All races should finish with a beer !

On Sunday I completed the Braishfield 5m race which routed around, unsurprisingly Braishfield near Romsey.

http://www.romseyroadrunners.co.uk/beer-race

Having not been to this part of Hampshire before, wow just wow! Very picturesque and beautiful, thatched cottages, classic car – all a bit Darling Buds of May (unfortunately without Catherine Zeta Jones)!

Anyway, the weather was stunning when I set off, very hot and there were a lot of Hedgies participating which was great. The start was a little remote:

IMG_2112

The race started with a lap of this field to thin out the crowds (let the speedys speed off and the less speedy people, amble nicely).

I went to the race with high hopes and have been training and felt confident (so much I had asked my wife if she wanted to come and watch), however I struggled mentally… I’ve always been one of those people that turned up to a race in a non descript t-shirt and kept myself to myself and survived the race. This time I was in a Hedgie vest, people were reading the logo on the front as they walked past and I did a warm up with the running club etc. I think it all worried me out of my comfort zone etc.

Anyway, as a result of the above and generally I just couldn’t find my rhythm the first couple of miles were hell with a combination of mental anger and general annoyance! The race itself is one long lap and one little lap and when I got to the meeting point of the two laps when the winning runners were flying past I decided to make a decent fist of it as my wife and kids were there and pushed on a bit and it felt like I really pushed the last 2.5 miles and finished with a pb of 51mins (for me about 5 or 6 minutes off my expected time).

The race finish was great, in the field of the village hall where on completion a pint of beer and a slice of cake was passed out. Fantastic and a great way to finish the race in the sunshine! See below:

A nice pint of beer!  (the girls took the cake..)
A nice pint of beer!
(the girls took the cake..)

In the evening I downloaded my race from my tomtom watch. My km splits were within 10 seconds of each other throughout the race! I was ridiculously shocked and can’t believe it as mentally thought I was appalling in the first half and Kenyan like in the second! Feels like I need to work on the mental side a bit more…

Leave a Reply

