St Patrick’s Day 5k

A race organised by FitproRob from Believe and Achieve who has organised a number of races in Portsmouth and the south coast including the Portsmouth Coastal marathons and Ultra. I don’t know the motivations behind this race but it was billed as a fun, small, evening race in old Pompey. Fancy dress encouraged and a pint of a Guinness at the end ticked all my boxes!!!

, Since my last race, the disaster of a half, I’ve just knuckled down and done loads of short runs to build up my fitness and endurance by running most days as opposed to long runs that seem to knock out my knees. This was a bit of a test to see if I had got some confidence back or not in a safe fun environment. Of course there were many many hedgies there!!! Including the eventual winner Sarah!!!

Pre race gatherings with my wife and the rest of the Hedgie crew who were there.

My wife had mentioned on the way down that she thought she could pace me to a new PB as I’d never been below 30mins for a 5k.

The race itself was a fairly straightforward out and back along the seafront which was very enjoyable and my wife pushed me all the way along with some encouragement and some shouting! A new PB was indeed set with the reward of an amazing medal, free Guinness and some free potatoes! random but delicious!

IMG_9658

Well organised fun race and one I will definitely be doing next year but more importantly a great confidence boost before the next weekend’s races.

 

 

Leave a Reply

